Divide and conquer: Owensville’s Feagan captures Gasconade County Treasurer’s post

Posted on Wednesday, August 6, 2014 at 9:17 am

With four candidates splitting the vote in Hermann, Owensville’s Michael Feagan won the GOP nomination Tuesday for the office of Gasconade County Treasurer with 35.9 percent of the vote in primary election balloting.

Feagan garnered 1,086 votes while Patricia Mundwiller collected 711 (23.5 percent) to finish second.

Rounding out the field of five are Wanda Ruediger with 701 (23.2), Susan Stiers with 346 (11.5) and Denise Biles with 179 (5.9).

The first numbers posted Tuesday night — the absentee ballot count — showed Feagan with a lead of 38-30 over Ruediger. Mundwiller attracted 22 to run third with votes casting absentee ballots.

The treasurer’s race was the only contested county government office.

GOP County Clerk Lesa Lietzow, unopposed for re-election in either party, was spot-on with her 30- to 35-percent turnout projection. Final unofficial figures put the turnout at 35.5 percent (3,711 ballots cast out of the 10,459 registered voters) at the county’s 18 precincts.

Gasconade County voters endorsed three of the five proposed Missouri Constitution amendments — 1, 5 and 9. Those amendments relate to agriculture, the right to bear arms and security of electronic communications. Gasconade voters joined in the statewide rejection of Amendment 7, which would have imposed a three-fourths-cent sales tax for 10 years to fund transportation projects. Locally, voters opposed the proposed tax by a vote of 1,623 in favor to 2,004 against (44.8-55.2). Voters here narrowly defeated Amendment 8, which called for the creation of a veterans lottery ticket. The vote on this issue was 1,710 in favor and 1,821 opposed (48.4-51.6).

vote watch web

Headlines of the Day