Missouri Corn Growers

Posted on Wednesday, January 29, 2014 at 1:07 pm

buy custom essays online


(JEFFERSON CITY)–Corn farmers, board members, industry representatives and guests from across the state gathered in Jefferson City, Mo., yesterday for the Missouri Corn Growers Association (MCGA) annual meeting and lobby day.


The morning kicked off at the Capitol Plaza Hotel with MCGA’s annual business meeting. Members elected Matt Lambert of Brookfield, Mo., to the MCGA board of directors to represent District 2 growers in north central Missouri. Kurtis Gregory of Marshall, Mo., was also elected to represent central Missouri growers in District 5. Three board members were reelected: Kevin Hurst in District 1 in northwest Missouri; Mark Scott of District 6 representing the east-central region; and John Moreton of District 7 in southeast Missouri.


Following the annual meeting and luncheon, growers visited the State Capitol to encourage legislators to allow the sale of E15 (15 percent ethanol, 85 percent gasoline) in Missouri and highlight the importance of corn and ethanol production in the state’s economy.


“If you believe in something and you’re passionate about it, it’s important to be involved,” said MCGA President Jim Stuever, a corn grower from Dexter, Mo. “I know how hard it can be to get away from the farm. But it’s equally important to be active in growing our industry. We need farmers in the Capitol to break through the politics currently blocking E15 in Missouri and give consumers another fuel choice.”

Members also took the opportunity to honor industry supporters for their contributions to the association during a recognition dinner. Award recipients included:

Friend of Corn Growers Award

Congressman Jason Smith

Senator Ron Richard

Representative John Diehl

Senator Mike Parson

Representative Bill Rieboldt


Outstanding Partner Award

Precision Scale & Controls


Honorary Lifetime Award

Sam Creed, Fairfax, Mo.

B.J. Bailey, Oregon, Mo.


Outstanding Member

Brian Lehman, Versailles, Mo.


Missouri Corn Top Recruiter

Jim Stuever, Dexter, Mo.


President’s Award

Billy Thiel, Malta Bend, Mo.


“It is important to take the time to recognize those who have helped advance our industry. Our legislative leaders last year recognized the importance of passing the Right to Farm amendment. This is one way we can show our appreciation for their support,” said Missouri Corn CEO Gary Marshall. “We are grateful to all our partners and friends who are willing to dig in and do the work to help strengthen agriculture.”


The Missouri Corn Growers Association is a membership organization of farmers dedicated to growing and defending the corn industry. MCGA works in the best interest of farmers on key agricultural issues and fights for pro-agriculture, pro-corn legislation. To learn more about Missouri Corn, or to become a member, visit www.mocorn.org or call (800) 827-4181.

Headlines of the Day