Baxter, Miskel file for presiding commissioner; 4 for treasurer

Posted on Tuesday, February 25, 2014 at 4:16 pm

By staff writer

election2014Filing for county offices opened Tuesday morning, Feb. 25, at the Gasconade County Courthouse in Hermann, and they were lined up to draw a number.
Presiding Commissioner Nick Baxter of Bland filed as a Democrat, seeking a four-year term after being appointed by Gov. Jay Nixon to fill the unexpired one-year term following the death of Ron Jost, who was a Republican.
Larry Miskel of Hermann, who is associate commissioner from the northern district, filed as a Republican on Tuesday for presiding commissioner.
Four Republicans filed for county treasurer, to seek the position held by Joey Gross, who has decided to retire. Filing on Tuesday were Michael Feagan of Owensville, Wanda Ruediger of Hermann, Susan Stiers of Hermann and Patricia Mundwiller of Hermann.
Also filing Tuesday was County Clerk Lesa Lietzow, who will be seeking a fourth four-year term on the Republican ticket. Mrs. Lietzow served in the county clerk’s office for 20 years as a deputy before seeking her first term nearly 12 years ago.
Shawn Schlottach, the long-time county recorder, also filed on the Republican ticket.
Pamela Greunke filed for circuit clerk and ex-officio recorder of deeds. Mrs. Greunke works in the circuit clerk’s office now, and will seek the position held by Joyce Gabathuler, who recently announced that she will retire and not seek another term.
Mary Weston filed for prosecuting attorney. She works in that office now as assistant prosecutor. Current prosecutor Ada Brehe-Krueger said at the recent Lincoln Day Banquet that she would file for associate circuit judge, as John B. Berkemeyer retires in March.
Filing for county offices closes on Tuesday, March 25, at 5 p.m.

Headlines of the Day