Hermann Advertiser Courier

Follow Us On:

Bearcat Briefs

Posted on Tuesday, February 6, 2018 at 2:19 pm

Gasconade County R-1 Superintendent Tracey Hankins.


Bearcat Memorial Nominations
Being Accepted Now
The Gasconade County R-I Board of Education is seeking nominations for the Bearcat Memorial.
The Bearcat Memorial began in the fall of 2007 as a way of honoring local people who had made significant contributions to the school, city, state, and nation. Previous honorees have covered that entire range and have included both military and civilian backgrounds. The previous Bearcat Memorial Honorees include:
2007 1st Lt. Steven Bezold, Carol Binkholder, Lnc. Cpl. Erik Heldt, Charlie Page
2008 James T. Shaw, M.D.
2009 Jody Stiers-Herbst, Matt Lampkin
2010 Don Gosen, Sr., G. W. Heying, Imogene Story Meyer, Nan Sellenschutter,
2012 Elmer Danuser, Art Draper, Earl Hauser
2013 Chris Arand, Elvira Bohl
2014 Sylan “Bud” Krone, Leroy & Janet Lerbs
2015 Leon Toedeman & Missy Frink
2016 Clara Eitmann Messmer & Anna Kemper Hesse
The selection process includes review by a panel of Board and community members who make recommendations to the Board of Education. Honorees are inducted into the memorial each fall following the nomination process. The Board of Education considers inclusion in the Bearcat Memorial to be the highest honor bestowed in the district.
Persons interested in nominating someone should pick up a nomination form from the superintendent’s office during regular business hours. Nominees must have been deceased for two years prior to their induction.