Hermann Advertiser Courier

Follow Us On:

Remember When

Posted on Tuesday, March 6, 2018 at 12:21 pm

125 years ago
Solomon in all his glory could not have compared with the members of the Turner Band and their new uniforms.

The school board will submit to the voters at the next election the proposition of raising the tax levy for school purposes from $.40-$.50 per $100 valuation. Four years ago 260 children attended school and now 311 attend which will increase to 325 this fall.

75 years ago
All proceeds from the motion picture “Lady be Good” to be shown at the Hermo Monday will be donated to the Herman Red Cross war fund drive. Hermann’s quota for the drive is $1400 and the county’s is $3700.

Forty-five machinists of the Gasconade boatyards met at City Hall here this week and organized the International Association of Machinists Lodge #1659, affiliated with the American Federation of Labor.

60 years ago
The Hermann Methodist Choir has ordered new choir robes and plans are to have them in time for Easter services.

The Hermann Lions Club voted at its meeting Tuesday night to provide a $100 scholarship to a qualified Hermann student.
Patsy Kemper was elected Queen, and Keith Coulter, King, of the 1958 PTA carnival here.

50 years ago
A call for six men to be inducted April 17 has been received by the Gasconade County Selective Board, Mr. Dan Bushmann, clerk, announced this week.

Owensville man is fatally beaten.

The Hermann Hospital Auxiliary is sponsoring a benefit pre-Easter hair fashion show at the St. George Dining Hall next Monday at 8 PM.

The announcement of the withdrawal of the St. George and University Laboratory High schools from the mid-Missouri conference at the end of the present school term has caused the league to fold. St. George won the conference basketball championship the past three seasons without a loss and had a string of 33 consecutive victories in conference competition.

Three members of the Hermann Bearcats squad and three members of the St. George Dragon’s team have been named to the east central Missouri all district basketball teams from the Class M and S divisions. Ron Kiderlen, George Helming, Duane Kraettli, Danny Kuebler, Dave Hackmann and Dan Struttmann.