BEARCAT BOARD STORY Educating for Excellence....the Bearcat Way!

BEARCAT BOARD STORY Educating for Excellence....the Bearcat Way!


The Gasconade County R-1 School Board met Thursday, December 9, 2021 for a regular meeting and an executive session. The meeting began with recognizing Coach Philip Landolt for his recent honor by the American Volleyball Coaches Association as Region 6 Coach of the Year for 2021. Region 6 includes Iowa, Wisconsin, Missouri and Illinois. Thank you coach for representing Hermann!

The next item on the agenda was to review the Board Norm “We will approve and be committed to a comprehensive communication plan that includes internal and external stakeholder communication.” The building reports were reviewed and the student advisor highlighted the 1720 items and $526 collected for the food drive this month. As part of the building report discussion, the Board agreed to move forward with a fixed batting cage at the High School, utilizing donated concrete pad and labor.

The Board listened to the MSBA November Board Report where they shared an overview of the MSBA conference in November. The impactful speakers and large variety of sessions gave opportunity for much learning and information sharing. The focus on teacher recruitment and retention is still top of mind and focus. The Missouri General Assembly resumes in January 2022 and there will be several items on the agenda focused on school boards; MSBA will continue to be an advocate at these sessions on behalf of Missouri School Boards. The Board approved the recommendation to send out a request for proposal (RFP) for the secure entrance project. This project will encompass all three campuses. We anticipate the RFP to be sent in February and the work to be completed in the summer of 2022.

Dr. Neill also shared that he is working on more detail on if a digital scoreboard would be a good investment in the near future. Dr. Neill reviewed the district’s running ledger which shows the district DESE payments up $266,000 over last year and our overall budget is trending to balance. He noted that we received 2/3rd of the total ESSER II funds of $559,000. We are waiting for legislative approval on ESSER III funding as that needs to be approval by March for us to reap the benefits from that program.

We had several items of New Business:  Dr. Neill shared the changes related to language required by the state and federal governments for our SRCSP plan. The Board agreed to meet on Monday, December 13th at 6:00 p.m. for an additional board meeting to discuss these in more detail and move to approval at that time.

 The Board approved the district to go out to bid for our contracted food service. The RFP request will be posted in the paper by the end of December.

 Dr. Neill shared the annual audit report with the Board, noting our positive audit results. A special thank you was given to Sarah Hackmann for her work to ensure we have a clean audit; the district and Board appreciate all her efforts.

 The Board approved Jill Rood as the new student advisor; Jill will transition from Blaine Klott at the January board meeting. The Board thanked Blaine for all his work and efforts to the board during the last year.  The Board approved of adding umbrella coverage to our general and automotive liability coverage.  The Board approved a new website and mobile app provider, which is part of the district’s overall communication plan. The new website and mobile app will transition in February 2022.

In Old Business, the Board approved the second and final read on policies 2021C, which focus on School Board Elections, Political Campaign, Behavioral Risk Assessment and Audio and Visual Recording. The Board approved the consent agenda and the meeting was adjourned. In Executive Session, the Board approved the hires of two paraprofessionals, Donelle Hopkins and Ashlyn Fries; both new hires will begin in December. The Board also approved the transfer of Dayton Ruediger from Custodian to Maintenance/Groundskeeper.

The Board accepted the retirements of two certified staff, Ms. Lela Pohlmann and Ms. Kristi Bakameyer, at the end of the 2021-2022 school term. We thank Ms. Pohlmann and Ms. Bakameyer for all they have done and will continue to do this year for our students and the district.

The Board also accepted the resignations of Ms. Nancy Cochran and Ms. Laura Vance, both effective in December 2021.

We thank them for their contributions to our district and wish Ms. Cochran and Ms. Vance all the best in their future endeavors.

Dr. Neill requested and the Board agreed to reschedule the January board meeting from Thursday to Tuesday. The next regularly scheduled Board Meeting is Tuesday, January 11that 6:00 p.m. in the Central Office