Course to explain
state's fence laws
Landowners can learn about Missouri’s complex fence laws March 8 in Gasconade County and online.
“Missouri continues to have a complicated fence law,” says Joe Koenen, University of Missouri Extension agricultural business specialist. “Two separate laws cover the state, and they vary county to county. Both laws are subject to interpretation.”
Koenen has given presentations on fence law for more than 25 years. “If you own land, you need to know the law and how it impacts you whether you own livestock or not,” he says.
Sessions at each location will be offered via Zoom or in person. Space for in-person sessions will be limited at some locations due to COVID-19 measures.
All sessions are 6:30-9 p.m. Registration fee is $15. For details and registration, visit extension.missouri.edu/events and search for “fence law.”
One of the sessions will be held on Monday, March 8, at the MU Extension Center in Owensville.