Hagedorn and LeBrell receive prestigious Lions Club award

Lions Club members Judy LeBrell and Wayne Hagedorn were recently inducted into the Melvin Jones Fellowship.

At the recent meeting of the Hermann Lions Club, local Lions Wayne Hagedorn and Judy LeBrell received the highest award a Lions club can give its members. They were inducted into the circle of Melvin Jones Fellowship. This prestigious award recognizes exemplary and meritorious service, not only to Lions projects, but also throughout the broader community and country. Both of these dedicated Lions have long histories of valuable service to many civic causes and charities.

The award is named for Melvin Jones, the founder of Lions Clubs. In 1917, Jones, a 38 year-old insurance broker and business leader, told members of his local business club they should reach beyond business issues and address the betterment of their communities and the world. The idea took hold, the name “Lions Clubs” was adopted.

Recommended for you